You might have found new employment, but you need to delete everything when you quit your current job. Odds are, you have personal files and accounts stored on your work computer and phone. If you don’t want your employer to have access to any of these, take a few days before leaving to delete it all.

Back Up All Your Personal Files

Start by using a USB drive to back up all of your personal files. A USB drive is discreet and won’t tip anyone off that you’re about to quit. Make certain you’re only backing up your own personal files and nothing that belongs to the company. Taking confidential files with you could get you into trouble.

Once you’ve finished your backup, delete all of these files from the computer. Remember to empty the Recycle Bin too or the files will still be accessible.

Change Account Emails

To delete everything when you quit means more than just deleting files. If you’ve signed up for newsletters, websites, or any other online account using your work email, you need to change the email address to your personal one. If you can’t change it, delete the account and open a new one under your personal email.

Related Read: Changing Your Email Address? What You Need to Know

Delete All Personal Emails

While your employer might have been monitoring all your activity, including personal emails, you still have the right to delete everything when you quit. You can also delete work-related messages if it doesn’t breach any company policies. If you want to keep any messages, forward them to your personal email and then delete the original and sent messages.

Clear Browser History and Settings

Your browser history contains all the sites you’ve visited, where you might have personal accounts, auto-fill data, and even passwords. It’s vital to delete everything when you quit. You’ll usually find the option to delete your history and other stored data under Settings.

For Chrome, click the More icon and choose Settings > Show Advanced Settings. Select Clear browsing data and ensure every box is checked.

For Firefox, click the Menu button and select History > Clear Recent History. Select Everything for your time range and check every box.

For Edge, click the Hub icon and select History > Clear all history. Choose all options and press Clear. You can also clear your Cortana history.

Related Read: Go Incognito in Google Chrome

Delete Personal Programs and Apps

If you’ve downloaded any personal programs on your computer or apps on your phone, delete them. Depending on your computer privileges, you may not be able to uninstall programs. If you can’t, delete any personal data from the program and leave it on your computer.

Remove Personal Data From Your Phone

Finally, you need to delete everything when you quit from not just your computer, but your phone as well. If you have a company provided phone, you’ve probably stored personal contacts and added your favorite apps, along with account details.

Remove all contacts from your phone and delete all apps. If it’s a pre-loaded app, delete your account from the app. You’ll find those options within the app’s settings.

When you quit, you don’t have to leave your personal life in your employer’s hands. Delete it all and happily move on.


Related Read: It’s Okay to Delete Friends on Social Media – Seriously!

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY