Delete Netflix History & Hide the Evidence of Your Binge Watching

Nobody needs to know what you watched all weekend...

Delete Netflix History feature

Have you watched something on Netflix that you wish would stop haunting your Netflix suggestions? Perhaps you don’t want others to see the guilty pleasures you can’t resist watching from time to time. Regardless of your motives, there is a hidden way to delete Netflix history through your account.

Everything You Watch is Tracked

The Recently Watched section of your Netflix account is a real-time list of all previously viewed titles. While it can provide an easy way to pick up on a TV show where you left off, it also serves as a visual record of the shows you watched, which some people might not want. Particularly for people who share an account, having all of the recently viewed titles available for anyone on the account to see can be a bit too revealing.

Your viewing activity also influences the title suggestions that Netflix generates for your profile.  Not everyone wants to have that one romantic comedy they watched to influence all of the other shows Netflix recommends, and luckily there is tucked away feature in Netflix that allows you to avoid a potentially embarrassing situation.

How to Delete Netflix History

Pro Tip: It can take up to 24 hours for the deleted viewing history to be removed from all of your devices.

There is a hidden page in your Netflix account where you can manage your viewing history and delete Netflix history that you don’t want saved to your profile.

The quick way

  1. Log in to your Netflix account.
  2. Go to this address: https://www.netflix.com/WiViewingActivity
  3. Click the X next to each item you want removed from your viewing history.

If you’re having trouble copying the link, you can get to your list of recently watched videos in just a few clicks.

Step-By-Step

  1. Log in to your Nextflix account.
  2. Hover over your account profile icon at the top right, then click Your Account. 
  3. In the My Profile section, select Viewing Activity.
  4. Click the X next to each item you want removed from your viewing history.

Keep in mind that if you re-watch a title that you want Netflix to forget, you’ll have to repeat these steps to delete Netflix history. If you accidentally remove something from your history, the only way to add it back is to play the title again.

Now you can view all of the TV shows, movies, and documentaries you want without the repercussions of an embarrassing viewing history or unwanted title suggestions in Netflix.

What TV show are you obsessed with on Netflix? Tell us below!


Related Read: Is Facebook Live the New Netflix? A Guide to Live Streaming